R. Stanton Pioneer Award goes to
Alex Knott



Alex Knott, of the Dow Chemical Company, has been chosen as the recipient of the R. Stanton Avery Pioneer Award for the 2018 Label Industry Global Awards. Judging for the 15th annual awards program took place on 6 June during the recent FINAT European Label Forum (ELF) in Dublin, where the panel of international judges met to consider entries across four award categories.

Sponsored by Avery Dennison, the R. Stanton Avery Pioneer Award honors the contribution an individual has made which has really impacted the label and package printing sector, whether their pioneering work has spanned two years or two decades.

Knott is a senior scientist in the company and leader of a global team that has pioneered the latest innovations in pressure-sensitive silicone release liner coating technology, including the introduction of Dow’s Flat Release Systems. This is technology has not only revolutionized high speed, low coating weight, high performance and label stock release liner production, but has also been a key factor in helping to drive down silicone coating costs.

Knott started his career as a Development Chemist in 1987 in the pressure-sensitive industry at Dow Corning - today a wholly owned subsidiary of The Dow Chemical Company. Since then he has held application engineering, technical leadership and senior scientist roles within this industry, and today has a solid global reputation as an authority on silicone pressure-sensitive systems.

Previous winners of the individual Award include: Professor Tan of PEIAC, Tomas Rink of Ritrama, Helmut Schreiner of Schreiner Group, Suzanne Zaccone of GSI Technologies, and Neil McDonough of FlexCon.

During the same meeting, the judging panel also discussed at length and agreed the finalists for the three other categories. They are:

The Award for Innovation (for companies with more than 300 employees), sponsored by Flint Group Narrow Web (in alphabetical order):

  • Esko

  • Fujifilm North America Corporation, Graphic Systems Division

  • Paper Converting Machine Company

  • Rotometrics

The Award for Innovation (for companies with up to 300 employees), sponsored by Flint Group Narrow Web (in alphabetical order):

  • Dienes Corporation

  • Eaglewood Technologies

  • Hamillroad Software

  • MGI

The Award for Sustainability, sponsored by Xeikon (in alphabetical order):

  • Avery Dennison

  • Signode India Ltd

  • UPM Speciality Papers

Mike Fairley, chair of the judges said: “As the highest accolade within the label and package printing industry, the quality of entries to the Label Industry Global Awards is always extremely high and drawing up the finalists is no easy process. However, the judging panel felt that Alex Knott was the stand-out choice for this year’s R. Stanton Pioneer Award, with multiple recommendations from around the world.

“Alex is undoubtedly one of the most recognized global experts in silicone-based paper release coating technology, with exceptional in-depth knowledge of silicone coatings right through to the most advanced solventless Platinum systems. During his time at Dow, silicone coat weights have reduced from around two microns to one micron or less, Platinum levels have reduced from 100ppm to 50ppm or less, whilst at the same time coating speeds have risen from around 80 meters a minute up to 1,000 meters a minute or more.

“For the label converter and end-user, such innovations have contributed to superior waste stripping performance at ever-increasing press running speeds, as well as enabling much higher label application line speeds on the latest automated product decoration systems. The judges were unanimous in selecting Alex as the recipient of the R. Stanton Avery Pioneer Award 2018.’

“We look forward to honoring him and the other winners in person at the awards ceremony in Chicago in September and to celebrating their successes.”

The other members of the judging panel for this year’s awards were: Chris Ellison, president of FINAT; Dan Muenzer, chairman of TLMI; James Quirk, group managing editor, Labels & Labeling; Rosina Obermayer, editor of NarrowWebTech; Steve Katz, editor of Label & Narrow Web.

All winners and official presentations of the prizes will be announced during Labelexpo Americas, held in Chicago, at a gala evening event on 25 September.  Tickets are available to purchase at www.labelawards.com

Visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdjJp-T5zzk for a taster of what’s in store for this year.


About Avery Dennison

Avery Dennison (NYSE:AVY) is a global leader in pressure-sensitive and functional materials, and labeling solutions for the retail apparel market. The company’s applications and technologies are an integral part of products used in every major industry. With operations in more than 50 countries and more than 25,000 employees worldwide, Avery Dennison serves customers in the consumer packaging, graphical display, logistics, apparel, industrial and healthcare industries. Headquartered in Glendale, California, the company reported sales of $6.1 billion in 2016. Learn more at www.averydennison.com

About Flint Group Narrow Web

Flint Group Narrow Web understands the endless variations in package and label printing, providing inks and coatings for most all label and packaging applications. Inks are developed and manufactured by industry specialists, using the best materials. We understand that high quality and batch to batch consistent ink isn’t enough; along with built-in quality comes expertise, solutions, innovation. When you partner with Flint Group, you gain access to leading edge products, and specialists, who will help you, achieve your business goals.


The R. Stanton Avery Pioneer Award is bestowed in memory of Stan Avery’s pioneering spirit and values, the award is a significant update to the previously named R. Stanton Avery Lifetime Achievement Award in order to better reflect the industry as it is today – one embracing innovation and tackling major environmental challenges such as label waste.